What are the types of gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumors?

Neuroendocrine tumors can be non-cancerous (benign) or cancerous. If the tumor is cancerous, it is called a neuroendocrine cancer. Neuroendocrine cancers – also called neuroendocrine carcinomas – can spread to other organs. The types of neuroendocrine cancers are based on how the cancer cells look:

  • Well-differentiated neuroendocrine cancers - these tumors do not look very abnormal and grow slowly.
  • Poorly-differentiated neuroendocrine cancers - these tumors look very abnormal and spread quickly.
  • Moderately-differentiated neuroendocrine cancers - these cancers share features of poorly-differentiated and well-differentiated cancers.
My recovery went just as the doctor said it would. It took a couple days to feel like myself again. Now I have my freedom and my life back.
Watch Video Read full story
Photo of Diana Stanley
Diana Stanley Fibroid Treatment

International Services

For more than 50 years, Baptist Health has stood for the highest quality healthcare in South Florida, featuring one of the largest hospital-based international programs in the U.S.
Related News

Recent Cancer Research News