What are the types of gestational trophoblastic disease?

GTD tumors are grouped into two types: hydatidiform moles and gestational trophoblastic neoplasia.

Hydatidiform moles (HMs) are generally noncancerous, but some forms can be precancerous. HMs are much more common than gestational trophoblastic neoplasia (GTN). HMs are slow-growing tumors that are sometimes called a molar pregnancy. Types of HMs include:

  • Complete hydatidiform moles (complete HM)
  • Partial hydatidiform moles (partial HM)

Gestational trophoblastic neoplasia (GTN) tumors are almost always cancerous. Types of GTN include:

  • Choriocarcinomas
  • Placental-site trophoblastic tumors (PSTT)
  • Epithelioid trophoblastic tumors (ETT)
My recovery went just as the doctor said it would. It took a couple days to feel like myself again. Now I have my freedom and my life back.
Watch Video Read full story
Photo of Diana Stanley
Diana Stanley Fibroid Treatment

International Services

For more than 50 years, Baptist Health has stood for the highest quality healthcare in South Florida, featuring one of the largest hospital-based international programs in the U.S.
Related News

Recent Cancer Research News