There are over 70 different types of lymphoma that are organized into two groups:

  • Hodgkin’s disease. This type of lymphoma is not common and mostly affects young adults. It involves large cancer cells called Hodgkin Reed-Sternberg cells. There are two main subtypes of Hodgkin’s disease: classical Hodgkin lymphoma and nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma. Classical Hodgkin lymphoma is further broken down into four sub-subtypes: nodular sclerosis, mixed cellularity, lymphocyte-rich and lymphocyte-depleted.
  • Non-Hodgkin lymphoma. This type of lymphoma is more common and mostly affects older adults. It is organized into two groups: B-cell lymphomas and T-cell lymphomas. Types of Non-Hodgkin lymphoma include:
    • Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL)
    • Primary mediastinal B-cell lymphoma
    • Burkitt’s lymphoma
    • Follicular lymphoma
    • Marginal zone lymphoma
    • Mantle cell lymphoma
    • Small lymphocytic lymphoma and chronic lymphocytic leukemia (SLL/CLL)
    • Anaplastic large cell lymphoma
    • Angioimmunoblastic lymphoma
    • Peripheral T-cell lymphoma
    • Cutaneous T-cell lymphoma

Lymphoma types also differ by their rate of development – some types progress slowly while others grow quickly.

My recovery went just as the doctor said it would. It took a couple days to feel like myself again. Now I have my freedom and my life back.
Watch Video Read full story
Photo of Diana Stanley
Diana Stanley Fibroid Treatment

International Services

For more than 50 years, Baptist Health has stood for the highest quality healthcare in South Florida, featuring one of the largest hospital-based international programs in the U.S.
Related News

Recent Cancer Research News